The Nearness of You

After finals I came home to a house being remodeled, a small fluffy dog who wants to hangout all the time, and the temptation of the glorious tv remote and the wide variety of sports channels it has access to. The first two days I darn right plopped myself down on the couch and ate every thing we had in our fridge while I watched movies and football. After about two and a half days of doing every mindless activity I could think of I finally got bored. My mom has always told me I am notorious for using the phrase, “Mommm, I’m bored..” This stunning, yet reoccurring realization led me to dream about all of the things I could do to fill the time and ease my boredom. So…. I set out to fill my schedule.

After four busy days I woke up this morning and decided to hit the gym because the “good food” I ate throughout the week was finally hitting the tum (yeesh). I got out my music, put in my headphones and got to business. About halfway through Loud Harp’s album Asaph began playing. I stopped and just listened to the lyrics of their songs as they played. (Loud harp is a stellar Christian worship duo from Colorado and Utah.)  Their song Steadfast Love played followed by The Nearness of You. While listening to the Nearness of You I was reminded of the grace and relentless pursuit of the Lord.

The song goes:

Screen Shot 2016-12-17 at 8.24.02 PM.png
About a week ago Blake Sherman, college pastor at First baptist Woodway, encouraged the students to spend time over the break intentionally diving into the word and setting aside time to linger in his presence. When I listened to this song it took me back to that very message and really convicted my heart. The lyrics you brought me back to this place, you gave me water, you gave me a drink, my flesh and heart may fail, whom have I but you? perfectly paint the beauty of the gospel. For all the times I am so focused on myself he calls me back and gives me the nourishment I need to keep going. He doesn’t ask for anything in return, He simply does this because He loves me. Yes, I wasted the first five days of Christmas break doing mindless activities to fill the time, yet He continues to pursue me and give me rest when I need it.
My hope is that during the craziness of this holiday season we would all make it a priority to spend a little extra time on to rest in the word of the Lord and allow ourselves to be nourished. Mark 2:27 “Then he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.” 

 

Leave a comment